frame

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In Register

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Assembling the shoulder

This is an almost finished shoulder assembly. The part that's not there yet is the gears.

A few notes, with more pictures to follow.

The hardest part of this assembly is getting the tensioners right. The main challenge has to do with the tolerances, and slightly shorter than needed M4 screws.

Comments

• The challenges with the tensioner assembly began with my very first prints, before I had any mechanical parts. But, even before that, this is how I got organized.

It was nice having the plastic compartment box with all the parts as part of the kit. I'm not very good at fishing tiny screws and nuts out of those tiny little compartments though, so I organized my stuff in this way. I bought a 39 compartment deal, which just so happens to fit all the parts comfortably, with larger items such as the smooth rods and cable wraps being big and obvious enough that I could double them up.

This makes it real handy when looking at the assembly drawings, and it says "M4 20mm", just a glance and you've got the parts at hand.

• On my first run through printing parts out, I was kind of sloppy, using PLA/PLA+, and not paying much attention to tolerances. I didn't calibrate for over/under flow because I've printed lots of stuff that was 'ok' when it fit together. with this robot, things need to be a bit tighter. Here was my first set of tensioners.

There's a couple of problems there. First, the gaps that are seen between the perimeter and the holes at the bottom are due to the selection of perimeter shells, infill percent, and first layer squish. Here I was probably using 2 shells and low infill (20%).